A New Year

Well I am here in front of this screen – wickedly white (that is the screen not me – I haven’t become that pale yet – winter white). In trepidation I let my not so nibble fingers flit over this keyboard. I am in the middle of sewing a pair of pajama pants. The long forgotten material and pattern were found this morning and I said, “That’s it! I have to do this – now!”

Now the unfinished pants are sitting on my lap as I type away. That’s me – a scanner. My friend Kimberley told me about a book about scanning. I read it – it is me. I love to try new things. I start things and then get caught up in something else. I really thought there was something wrong with me until I read a book called Refuse to Choose by Barbara Sher. Some of my symptoms are starting the laundry, doing some writing, then getting a snack, cleaning up something, then oops, forgot the laundry. It usually takes me two to three days to do the laundry as I forget that it is still waiting for me. I will talk more about this trait in future blogs.

But, this year I have promised myself to try to write more, to get less involved in the mechanics and just let it flow. I am working on a children’s book. I have sent off an article to a magazine. I feel like maybe, just maybe I am on a roll again.

2 Responses to “A New Year”

  1. Kimberley Payne Says:

    Hey Fellow Scanner!

    Barbara Sher’s book has made a tremendous impact in my life. I now feel free to explore my interests without the associated guilt that I should be doing something else at that very time. Thanks to N. J. Lindquist who recommended it to me!

    Kimberley Payne
    http://www.kimberleypayne.com

    • spiritfilledcanada Says:

      Kim,
      You went into the scam box. I just found you. Yes, we both know that our guilt has been dissappated since reading her book. Here’s to scanning up a storm.
      Jan

Leave a Reply

