All this technical stuff

I have spent a great amount of time just setting up this blog. The learning curve has been high. Thanks to a great friend, Joanna, I have added some interesting icons at the side. I find the map of the world very interesting. I can actually see where people live who look at this blog. Fascinating.

I have added a subscription feed. If you feel inclined see if you can subscribe to this. I don’t even know how it works yet. Maybe we can learn together.

I spent this morning working at the Pregnancy Care Centre in town. Once again I had to work my dendrites. I was trying to remember how to make labels using Word, Excel and mail merge. I also had to delete some of the names. For some people this is an every day occurrence. For me – not so – I do this for Christmas letters and when I am asked to make a database.

I first heard about the term “dendrites” when taking an art course at our college. We were learning to teach art. The instructor used this word “dendrites” often and told us she was going to expand our brains that week. She did!

“When learning occurs, neurons in the hippocampus change, and much attention has focused on how learning changes synapses-the contact points where neurons connect. Synapses connect the axon end of one neuron to the dendrites of another. During learning, synapses go through molecular and physical changes that help information flow more easily between affected neurons, like widening a bridge allows more cars to travel across.” from College of Natural Sciences.

“Challenge is important because learning takes place when we are outside of our comfort zone.” from Brain Gardening.

So to anyone out there who is trying something new, remember it is good for you. Even when we think we will never get it – something is happening in our brains to bring about learning.

One way I have tried to extend my learning is to memorize scripture verses. I am not very good at it. But, for the ones I have learned I been blessed being able to recall the scripture with ease.

It is about time for me to add some new scriptures to my small repetoire.

I will start with this one today from Micah 6:8,

He has showed you, O man, what is good.
And what does the LORD require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly with your God.

I have always loved that verse. So today I am going to learn it.

What are you going to learn today?

Tags: ,

One Response to “All this technical stuff”

  1. joannamallory Says:

    Dendrites…. thanks, Jan, I learned something new.

    Your butterfly photo is beautiful.

    I find learning Scripture hard too, and two things that help me are if I can learn it as a song or if I write it out in short phrases.

    My day is over, but I just learned some cool things trying to manage my blog’s subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

