Connections

christmascardsAfter Christmas I had read somewhere about praying for the people who had sent me Christmas cards. Armed with the stack of cards, each morning I have read over the card, remembered the sender(s) and prayed for them. I then have recorded their names in the back of my journal. It has been a wonderful experience.

I don’t know about you but when Christmas cards arrive here it is  in the flurry of Christmas preparations. I open them and read them and then place them in front of my husband’s dining chair. That way I know that he will see them. But, it is a quick look and if there are notes, we try to find time to read them. Sometimes there are little newsy notes; sometimes long tomes.

This time each card gets a special read – a quiet time to really think about the person who sent it. I have liked the experience so much that I am contemplating about going through the cards a second time.

How do you keep a connection with your friends and family? Do you have a way of remembering them to God?

Psalm 54:2
Hear my prayer, O God; listen to the words of my mouth.

Philippians 4:6
Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

5 Responses to “Connections”

  1. joannamallory Says:

    What a lovely idea, praying over the Christmas cards! Now if only I can remember until next January! Actually, that would work well for birthdays etc too. Thanks for this!

    No thanks for the photo of the Christmas cards, though! As pretty as it is, that great big snowman is exactly what I do not want to see in March. I’m dreaming of new grass growing and flower shoots pushing through the earth.

    My connection tip: Sometimes I’ve taken our photo directory for church and prayed through it a few names each day. You could do that with any membership directory. It really builds a sense of closeness to the people I’m praying for.

  2. spiritfilledcanada Says:

    Joanna,
    I love the idea of the church directory and other directories. I guess that is what we do on the prayer team – with a few members each week.

    Have you thrown out this year’s cards? I always keep them to practice my watercolours.

  3. joannamallory Says:

    I save them to make gift tags for next Christmas. Or sometimes I make little boxes out of them. They’re safely tucked away until December.

  4. spiritfilledcanada Says:

    Oh you are so resourceful. You could “untuck” them and get them out to pray for them this year!! 🙂

  5. Peter Black Says:

    An excellent piece and a great idea.
    I read several earlier posts, and enjoyed every one.
    May the Lord bless you and use spiritfilledcanada and Shining His Light for His glory and the blessing of many.
    Peter.

Leave a Reply

