Inspiration

I needed to be inspired. I felt lost, as dull and dreary as the weather has been.

This morning I picked up a book that I had started to read – The Bible Jesus Knew by Philip Yancey.

We hear people say, “I like the New Testament but I don’t like the Old Testament”. I used to feel that way. However, I took a course given at our church called Crossways. It teaches all the books of the Bible – yes even the Old Testament. It opened my eyes to see something of what God’s people had learned and it showed me that indeed there was an importance to the Old Testament. There was a plan, a plan fulfilled. Much of the OT points us to Jesus.

Now, in reading Philip Yancey’s book I see a more important part – the fact that Jesus heard this as a child, then read and studied it. Yancey says, “The more we comprehend the Old Testament, the more we comprehend Jesus.”

I love this. In my studying this year I am using a one year Bible. I find it fascinating as I read daily from the Old Testament including Psalms and Proverbs, and a passage from the new Testament as well.

This fact has inspired me this morning. As I read the Old Testament I am learning more about Jesus. That is wonderful and powerful.

The song Shine Jesus Shine inspired me years ago and still does. Here it is sung by Graham Kendrick.

Shine Jesus Shine

One Response to “Inspiration”

  1. Topics about Old-testament » Inspiration « Shining His Light Says:

    […] spiritfilledcanada created an interesting post today on Inspiration « Shining His LightHere’s a short outlineWe hear people say, “I like the New Testament but I don’t like the Old Testament”. I used to feel that way. However, I took a course given at our church called Crossways. It teaches all the books of the Bible – yes even the Old … […]

Leave a Reply

