Slow – Dial up

We have been at the cottage since mid May. There is no service for high speed. This has been hard for both my husband and me. Patience has been necessary in order to do anything online.

I even tried the Rogers Stick. After buying the device, making 8 phone calls and arguing whether I should have to pay another $100.00 deposit (I didn’t), I found out that there was NO SERVICE.  So another trip to Orillia to give back the Stick and get my money.

This Monday we are trying a new service called Xittel. They have a tower 1 kilometre from the cottage. We will see what happens with this one.

In the meantime, I am at my daughter’s house in Peterborough – wireless, high speed. Hurrah.

Next week – is the BIG ONE – Write! Canada – a three day conference for all writers, editors or wantabes who are Christian. I am so excited. Hopefully, when I return, I will have high speed and be able to connect via blogs, Facebook, and emails with less pain.

I recently read a wonderful book called Talking to the Dead by Bonnie Grove. What a read! It has everything – suspense, great characters, and heart warming moments. The characters are real and that’s what I like. It is believable.

2 Responses to “Slow – Dial up”

  1. Peter Black Says:

    Hello Jan,
    I feel for you regarding your cyber-world frustrations, but it’s good to know that you anticipate better things in the quite near future.
    Looking forward to seeing you and the gang at Write! Canada in just a few days.
    May you and Wayne have a blessed worship weekend.
    Peter.

    • spiritfilledcanada Says:

      Thanks Peter,
      I am on dial up now – and it is working okay. But, to be able to do things quickly is a blessing. I think everyone should go on dial up for a bit and then appreciate the blessing of high speed.
      See and talk to you this year at the conference. I have no “job” this year.
      Jan

Leave a Reply

